Uninstalling/Reinstalling or Upgrading MapInfo Discover - Settings and Licensing

Occurrence

If I uninstall or upgrade the MapInfo Discover Standalone or Bundle, will I lose my licen
se or my drillhole project and other configuration files?

Or I am transferring to a new computer - what folders should I backup and transfer to maintain my settings and customisations?

Solution

Discover

Licenses

See the related articles on transferring or returning a license to a different computer.

When MapInfo Discover is uninstalled the license is preserved on that computer (i.e. the license is unaffected by a MapInfo Discover uninstall).  Upon reinstalling MapInfo Discover a new activation code is not required.

Note if you have uninstalled already, you can still transfer or return the license, as the License Manager will still be installed under the Program Files (x86)>Encom as the CLSECURE32.exe.

Drillholes, Projections, Legends and other Configuration information

MapInfo Discover Drillhole project metadata and other user configuration information is saved sub-folders in the default locations -

  C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Encom\Discover\               

 AND

 C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Encom\Common\

Which are preserved preserved on uninstall or upgrades, but can be backed up or transferred to a different computer.


MapInfo Pro

License

When uninstalling Mapinfo Pro, you will be automatically prompted to return the license and it will be removed from the computer.

Custom Projections

If you are installing the MapInfo
Discover Bundle and have custom projections, see the related KB article here -
https://discoverkb.dataminesoftware.com/questions.php?questionid=723



Custom Thematic templates and symbols and configuration

To transfer between computers, wit the same version of MapInfo Pro installed, simply copy the contents of this folder to the same location on the new computer -

 C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\MapInfo\


If upgrading to different versions, there will be extra steps after this to transfer the thematics. See the related KB below on transferring thematics to new versions.


Would you like to...

Print this page Print this page

Email this page Email this page

Post a comment Post a comment

Subscribe me

Remove Highlighting Remove Highlighting

Edit this article

User Opinions (13 votes)

100% thumbs up 0% thumbs down

How would you rate this article?




Thank you for rating this article.