What is a named user license?

The Named User license in Discover for ArcGIS is based on a traditional floating concurrent license model. However it restricts the licenses to be only used by a certain user.

The workflow is as follows -

1. If you have 3 Named User licenses, and you email to your whole company your cloud server licence Client ID and password.

2. The first 3 users the start the software, and connect (activate) a license will have their windows user name automatically assign to 1 of the 3 licenses.

3. The 3 users can now use the license, on any computer, provide they login with the same Windows user name (i.e. you company's email/domain user name), and it is not opened on more than 1 computer at a time by the user

4. For the 4th user, they will not be able to take a license, even after the first 3 user close the software. To 'transfer' the license from one of the user to another, you will need to login to the cloud customer portal, and remove a user for the named user list. see the related KB for detailed instructions.

5. Once a user is removed from the user list, they will not be able to access any of the licenses for a 24hr period. This means they will not be able have the license 'transferred' back to them.

Note as this is a Cloud server license, you must be online with a internet connection to use the licence. You must take the license offline, before going offline, to continue to use it.

Would you like to...

Print this page Print this page

Email this page Email this page

Post a comment Post a comment

Subscribe me

Remove Highlighting Remove Highlighting

Edit this article

User Opinions (0 votes)

No users have voted.

How would you rate this article?




Thank you for rating this article.

Related Articles

Attachments

No attachments were found.

Last Updated on: 18th of August, 2021